God Loves Me even when ….. I Am Strong – Notes for talk from 23rd July 2017


God Loves Me even when ….. I Am Strong

 

Theme,

We are strong when we base our lives on Gods rock

We can feel strong in our own abilities but they can fail us.

Strong doesn’t mean heartless.

Strength needs to be covered in love

There is nothing wrong with being strong, just what we are strong in.

Readings  1 Peter 5 1-11   Titus 1 6-9   Luke 6   46-49

 

  • God Loves Me even when ….. I Am Strong

Last week Robert spoke about how God loves me even when I am lost and weak

Talking about how leaders have thought of themselves rather than those in need.

 

This week we turn it around and look at God loving us even when we are strong.

 

What does being strong look like?

 

What makes a person Strong?

 

  • Many put their faith in their own strength, confident that they can do all they need to by themselves.

 

I did for many years

These people are at the opposite end to those we saw last week who were lost

or are they?

Our Luke reading says that being strong requires a strong foundation.

The only true strong foundation is Jesus the cornerstone.

We require a strong foundation to be strong ourselves.

 

  • Being strong is important we can not live our lives in weakness

However it is being strong in our faith in God which is important not being strong in our own worth or abilities.

 

Samson was very strong, but where did his strength come from?

 

Goliath was strong and put the fear of his strength into his enemies

1 Sam 17

41 Goliath walked out toward David with his shield bearer ahead of him,42 sneering in contempt at this ruddy-faced boy. 43 “Am I a dog,” he roared at David, “that you come at me with a stick?” And he cursed David by the names of his gods. 44 “Come over here, and I’ll give your flesh to the birds and wild animals!” Goliath yelled.

45 David replied to the Philistine, “You come to me with sword, spear, and javelin, but I come to you in the name of the Lord of Heaven’s Armies—the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied. 46 Today the Lord will conquer you, and I will kill you and cut off your head. 

 

Where did David get his strength to oppose Goliath?

 

Many of the people in the bible where strong in faith but weak in other ways. However they still stood up to face down stronger enemies.

 

Just think of one or two.

Moses; David; Solomon; Peter etc….

 

Our own abilities and strength can fail us, Gods strength will never fail you.

Being strong in our faith in Jesus is what will always mean we have someone to lean on when our own strength fails us.

 

David used discretion and Gods care for all his people rather than his strength when he came upon Saul at various times

 

  • The New Testament often speaks of our need to be Strong in Our Faith

 

Our strength needs to come from God,

 

Luke 1  80 John grew up and became strong in spirit.

 

Luke 2 39-40

39 When Jesus’ parents had fulfilled all the requirements of the law of the Lord, they returned home to Nazareth in Galilee. 40 There the child grew up healthy and strong. He was filled with wisdom, and God’s favor was on him.

 

  • Luke 6

47 I will show you what it’s like when someone comes to me, listens to my teaching, and then follows it. 48 It is like a person building a house who digs deep and lays the foundation on solid rock. When the floodwaters rise and break against that house, it stands firm because it is well built. 49 But anyone who hears and doesn’t obey is like a person who builds a house right on the ground, without a foundation. When the floods sweep down against that house, it will collapse into a heap of ruins.”

 

When we build on the rock of Christ then we will be able to stand strong against the storms of life,

 

Being Strong is important, but having that strength in the right things/person is very important.

 

Our Peter reading talks about being to stand up to the devil [the storms of life] by the strength of our faith

although that is not always easy.

 

My faith isn’t very churchy, it’s a pretty personal, intimate thing and has been a huge source of strength in moments of life and death. Bear Grylls

 

  • But we have already seen that God loves us even when we are weak and lost.

 

1 Peter 5

10 In his kindness God called you to share in his eternal glory by means of Christ Jesus. So after you have suffered a little while, he will restore, support, and strengthen you, and he will place you on a firm foundation.

 

Yes God loves us even when we are suffering but He will restore and lift us up again, make us strong again.

 

I have experienced that so many times

I see this in how He supplies me with the stuff I need for my talks.

For the people he brings to support me in my need.

I know my strength comes from my faith in Jesus. and Bear Grylls says this

My faith is an important part of my life and over the years I’ve learnt that it takes a proud man to say he doesn’t need anything. It has been a quiet strength and a backbone through a lot of difficult times.

 

  • Being Strong is not about being….

7 ..Arrogant or quick-tempered; he must not be a heavy drinker,[d] violent, or dishonest with money.

 

Being strong is not about doing what you want living any way you want

 

Rather, he must enjoy having guests in his home, and he must love what is good. He must live wisely and be just. He must live a devout and disciplined life. He must have a strong belief in the trustworthy message he was taught; then he will be able to encourage others with wholesome teaching and show those who oppose it where they are wrong.

Titus 1

  

  • It is about following the Message of Jesus about living a live of truth, love and faith

 

1 Cor 16  13-14

13 Be on guard. Stand firm in the faith. Be courageous.[c] Be strong.14 And do everything with love.

  

Psalm 31

24 So be strong and courageous,     all you who put your hope in the Lord!

 

Daniel 11 32   But the people who know their God will be strong and will resist him.  [resist the attacker]

 

Hosea 7  15 I trained them and made them strong,   [God trains us and that training makes us stronger]

  

1 John 2

14 I have written to you who are God’s children
because you know the Father.
I have written to you who are mature in the faith
because you know Christ, who existed from the beginning.
I have written to you who are young in the faith
    because you are strong.
God’s word lives in your hearts,
and you have won your battle with the evil one.

  

  • So we each need to be strong in faith.

Faith that Jesus died for you.

Faith in His love for you

Faith in the power of being reborn in the Spirit

Faith that grows stronger as we share our stories together.

We need to use that strength we get from our faith in love to aid others.

 

  • Let us pray


 

1 Peter 5 1-11

And now, a word to you who are elders in the churches. I, too, am an elder and a witness to the sufferings of Christ. And I, too, will share in his glory when he is revealed to the whole world. As a fellow elder, I appeal to you: Care for the flock that God has entrusted to you. Watch over it willingly, not grudgingly—not for what you will get out of it, but because you are eager to serve God. Don’t lord it over the people assigned to your care, but lead them by your own good example. And when the Great Shepherd appears, you will receive a crown of never-ending glory and honor.

In the same way, you who are younger must accept the authority of the elders. And all of you, dress yourselves in humility as you relate to one another, for

“God opposes the proud
but gives grace to the humble.”[a]

So humble yourselves under the mighty power of God, and at the right time he will lift you up in honor. Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you.

Stay alert! Watch out for your great enemy, the devil. He prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour. Stand firm against him, and be strong in your faith. Remember that your family of believers[b] all over the world is going through the same kind of suffering you are.

10 In his kindness God called you to share in his eternal glory by means of Christ Jesus. So after you have suffered a little while, he will restore, support, and strengthen you, and he will place you on a firm foundation.11 All power to him forever! Amen.

 

Titus 1 6-9

An elder must live a blameless life. He must be faithful to his wife,[b] and his children must be believers who don’t have a reputation for being wild or rebellious. A church leader[c] is a manager of God’s household, so he must live a blameless life. He must not be arrogant or quick-tempered; he must not be a heavy drinker,[d] violent, or dishonest with money.

Rather, he must enjoy having guests in his home, and he must love what is good. He must live wisely and be just. He must live a devout and disciplined life. He must have a strong belief in the trustworthy message he was taught; then he will be able to encourage others with wholesome teaching and show those who oppose it where they are wrong.

 

 

Luke 6   46-49

46 “So why do you keep calling me ‘Lord, Lord!’ when you don’t do what I say? 47 I will show you what it’s like when someone comes to me, listens to my teaching, and then follows it. 48 It is like a person building a house who digs deep and lays the foundation on solid rock. When the floodwaters rise and break against that house, it stands firm because it is well built. 49 But anyone who hears and doesn’t obey is like a person who builds a house right on the ground, without a foundation. When the floods sweep down against that house, it will collapse into a heap of ruins.”

 

Ephesians 1 15-18

15 Ever since I first heard of your strong faith in the Lord Jesus and your love for God’s people everywhere,[e] 16 I have not stopped thanking God for you. I pray for you constantly, 17 asking God, the glorious Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, to give you spiritual wisdom[f] and insight so that you might grow in your knowledge of God. 18 I pray that your hearts will be flooded with light so that you can understand the confident hope he has given to those he called—his holy people who are his rich and glorious inheritance.

 

1 Cor 16  13-14

13 Be on guard. Stand firm in the faith. Be courageous.[c] Be strong.14 And do everything with love.

 

Luke 1  80 John grew up and became strong in spirit.

 

Luke 2 39-40

39 When Jesus’ parents had fulfilled all the requirements of the law of the Lord, they returned home to Nazareth in Galilee. 40 There the child grew up healthy and strong. He was filled with wisdom, and God’s favor was on him.

 

1 John 2 12-14

12 I am writing to you who are God’s children
because your sins have been forgiven through Jesus.[c]
13 I am writing to you who are mature in the faith[d]
because you know Christ, who existed from the beginning.
I am writing to you who are young in the faith
because you have won your battle with the evil one.
14 I have written to you who are God’s children
because you know the Father.
I have written to you who are mature in the faith
because you know Christ, who existed from the beginning.
I have written to you who are young in the faith
    because you are strong.
God’s word lives in your hearts,
and you have won your battle with the evil one.

 

Psalm 31

R So be strong and courageous,
all you who put your hope in the Lord!

 

O Lord, I have come to you for protection;
don’t let me be disgraced.
Save me, for you do what is right.
Turn your ear to listen to me;
rescue me quickly.
Be my rock of protection,
a fortress where I will be safe.
You are my rock and my fortress.
For the honor of your name, lead me out of this danger.

Pull me from the trap my enemies set for me,
for I find protection in you alone.
I entrust my spirit into your hand.
Rescue me, Lord, for you are a faithful God.  R

 

I hate those who worship worthless idols.
I trust in the Lord.
I will be glad and rejoice in your unfailing love,
for you have seen my troubles,
and you care about the anguish of my soul.
You have not handed me over to my enemies
but have set me in a safe place.

Have mercy on me, Lord, for I am in distress.
Tears blur my eyes.
My body and soul are withering away.
10 I am dying from grief;
my years are shortened by sadness.
Sin has drained my strength;
I am wasting away from within.
11 I am scorned by all my enemies
and despised by my neighbors—
even my friends are afraid to come near me.
When they see me on the street,
they run the other way.  R

12 I am ignored as if I were dead,
as if I were a broken pot.
13 I have heard the many rumors about me,
and I am surrounded by terror.
My enemies conspire against me,
plotting to take my life.

14 But I am trusting you, O Lord,
saying, “You are my God!”
15 My future is in your hands.
Rescue me from those who hunt me down relentlessly.  R

16 Let your favor shine on your servant.
In your unfailing love, rescue me.
17 Don’t let me be disgraced, O Lord,
for I call out to you for help.
Let the wicked be disgraced;
let them lie silent in the grave.[a]
18 Silence their lying lips—
those proud and arrogant lips that accuse the godly.  R

 

19 How great is the goodness
you have stored up for those who fear you.
You lavish it on those who come to you for protection,
blessing them before the watching world.
20 You hide them in the shelter of your presence,
safe from those who conspire against them.
You shelter them in your presence,
far from accusing tongues.

21 Praise the Lord,
for he has shown me the wonders of his unfailing love.
He kept me safe when my city was under attack.
22 In panic I cried out,
“I am cut off from the Lord!”
But you heard my cry for mercy
and answered my call for help.

23 Love the Lord, all you godly ones!
For the Lord protects those who are loyal to him,
but he harshly punishes the arrogant.
24 So be strong and courageous,
all you who put your hope in the Lord!   R

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

