The Woman at the Well – Talk notes for Sunday 19/03/17


People of the Story

The Woman at the Well

Readings –  John 4 5-42; Acts 16:12-14; Psalm 40 1-10

You will find a audio of the talk here for the next 8 weeks

  • This is a favorite reading, showing and telling us abut how Jesus/God meets with people and what happens when He does. And also shows us how we should do it as well.

 

  • Water and wells turn up often in the story of the people of the bible.

Look at, Abram, Moses, Jacob, and on to Jesus.

Its where people met, to water their animals and themselves.

Where do people meet these days?

Pubs?               Cafes?              On line?                        Sports?                        Work?              Baptism?

This is important because God meets us where we are, he meets us through the people we meet the places we go

Paul was much the same, going to where people met and engaging with them.

 

  • Today we are all at a baptism, where we bring a person to allow them to show they want to follow Jesus, be in a relationship with God. By being washed in water, a symbol of the living water of the Spirit.

Yes Mason can not do that himself as yet so his parents Dave & Verica along with others make that choice for him and themselves instead.

 

So today is a good time to encounter God.

If like these ladies you know a little about God but want to know more and be in a relationship with Him

Today is the day.

Will you listen to what God wants to say to you today?

Will you ask questions and explore Whether Jesus is who He said He was?

‘The Messiah’

‘God come to save us’

 

  • Jesus took people as he found them.

Never any condemnation of them just accepting them as they were.

9 The woman was surprised, for Jews refuse to have anything to do with Samaritans.[b] She said to Jesus, “You are a Jew, and I am a Samaritan woman. Why are you asking me for a drink?”

 

He only had harsh words for religious leaders who did not live what they preached.

 

Neither Jesus and Paul looked down on people and neither does God, even if we often are lead to believe or think He does.

 

  • Jesus broke all the cultural taboos.

He talked to a woman who did not have a male relative with her. Not the done thing

He talked to a foreigner and one the Jews hated more than the Romans.

He talked to a women who was not married to the man she was living with, having gone through a few men already.

Paul talked to women where they met, again ignoring normal Greek and Roman morals

What would be the equivalent today?

Who would society expect you to ignore?

How would God react?

Do you think you are not someone God would be interested in?

The bible shows that God is interested in everyone, not matter how weak or strong, rich or poor, cleaver or not, man or women, child or adult, Christian or not, married or single, promiscuous or celibate.

 

  • Jesus spoke to prostitutes, the sick, the foreigner, the old and young, even to religious leaders.

He will speak to you if you ask and listen there is nothing about you God does not already know and He still loves you and wants to have a relationship with you.

 

  • Both Paul and Jesus used the persons current activity to explain the good news of how to have a relationship with God rather than forcing some strange theology onto them.

They kept it simple but deep and allowed the person to ask questions and went from there.

 

This is how I came to faith 18 years ago, God met me where I was, then slowly I was led to people who took me as I was and allowed me to ask question. I was allowed time for conversation and time to think.

The end result was like both these women a changed life.

You can ask me about that after if you want

 

  • Jesus talked about the Living water of new life, a picture of the Holy Spirit within believers.

13 Jesus replied, “Anyone who drinks this water will soon become thirsty again. 14 But those who drink the water I give will never be thirsty again. It becomes a fresh, bubbling spring within them, giving them eternal life.”

 

  • The Spirit of God still speaks to people where they are and in the context of their life.

And when it does and is accepted it brings transformation.

You can not meet God and not be effected, even if it is only to choice not to follow.

Jesus could tell the women about her life and He could see how it effected her.

 

  • God gives a choice, follow Him in Jesus or not.

21 Jesus replied, “Believe me, dear woman, the time is coming when it will no longer matter whether you worship the Father on this mountain or in Jerusalem. 22 You Samaritans know very little about the one you worship, while we Jews know all about him, for salvation comes through the Jews. 23 But the time is coming-indeed it’s here now-when true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and in truth. The Father is looking for those who will worship him that way. 24 For God is Spirit, so those who worship him must worship in spirit and in truth.”

25 The woman said, “I know the Messiah is coming-the one who is called Christ. When he comes, he will explain everything to us.”

26 Then Jesus told her, “I am the Messiah!”[d]

 

  • How would you respond to that statement?

 

  • What happened then?

28 The woman left her water jar beside the well and ran back to the village, telling everyone, 29 “Come and see a man who told me everything I ever did! Could he possibly be the Messiah?”

Acts  . As she listened to us, the Lord opened her heart, and she accepted what Paul was saying.

 

Transformation

Psalm 40

Now that you have made me listen, I finally understand[a]
you don’t require burnt offerings or sin offerings.
Then I said, “Look, I have come.
As is written about me in the Scriptures:
I take joy in doing your will, my God,
for your instructions are written on my heart.”

 

They both believed and went and told others who also believed. There lives where changed.

 

There was forgiveness and change

They both heard enough to get them interested and committed to God and finding out more.

 

 

  • Believe seek forgiveness and be transformed

I and many here have decided that Jesus is God and by following allowed Him to change us, transform us slowly into His likeness. This is done as God does it for us by forgiveness

 

If you also want to, do please do not miss the opportunity, talk to Robert, Clare, Sarah, Myself  or someone else who has had this encounter with God.

 

If God is good, and we believe that He is, how can it harm you to encounter Him.

 

Did it hurt either women in our readings?

Did anyone in the bible regret meeting God?

 

So if encountering God will not hurt you, what do you have to lose,?

What is stopping you from meeting with Him?

 

Let us pray

 

 

Readings from  Bible gateway  https://www.biblegateway.com/

John 4

Eventually he came to the Samaritan village of Sychar, near the field that Jacob gave to his son Joseph. 6 Jacob’s well was there; and Jesus, tired from the long walk, sat wearily beside the well about noontime. 7 Soon a Samaritan woman came to draw water, and Jesus said to her, “Please give me a drink.” 8 He was alone at the time because his disciples had gone into the village to buy some food.

9 The woman was surprised, for Jews refuse to have anything to do with Samaritans.[b] She said to Jesus, “You are a Jew, and I am a Samaritan woman. Why are you asking me for a drink?”

10 Jesus replied, “If you only knew the gift God has for you and who you are speaking to, you would ask me, and I would give you living water.”

11 “But sir, you don’t have a rope or a bucket,” she said, “and this well is very deep. Where would you get this living water? 12 And besides, do you think you’re greater than our ancestor Jacob, who gave us this well? How can you offer better water than he and his sons and his animals enjoyed?”

13 Jesus replied, “Anyone who drinks this water will soon become thirsty again. 14 But those who drink the water I give will never be thirsty again. It becomes a fresh, bubbling spring within them, giving them eternal life.”

15 “Please, sir,” the woman said, “give me this water! Then I’ll never be thirsty again, and I won’t have to come here to get water.”

16 “Go and get your husband,” Jesus told her.

17 “I don’t have a husband,” the woman replied.

Jesus said, “You’re right! You don’t have a husband- 18 for you have had five husbands, and you aren’t even married to the man you’re living with now. You certainly spoke the truth!”

19 “Sir,” the woman said, “you must be a prophet. 20 So tell me, why is it that you Jews insist that Jerusalem is the only place of worship, while we Samaritans claim it is here at Mount Gerizim,[c] where our ancestors worshiped?”

21 Jesus replied, “Believe me, dear woman, the time is coming when it will no longer matter whether you worship the Father on this mountain or in Jerusalem. 22 You Samaritans know very little about the one you worship, while we Jews know all about him, for salvation comes through the Jews. 23 But the time is coming-indeed it’s here now-when true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and in truth. The Father is looking for those who will worship him that way. 24 For God is Spirit, so those who worship him must worship in spirit and in truth.”

25 The woman said, “I know the Messiah is coming-the one who is called Christ. When he comes, he will explain everything to us.”

26 Then Jesus told her, “I am the Messiah!”[d]

27 Just then his disciples came back. They were shocked to find him talking to a woman, but none of them had the nerve to ask, “What do you want with her?” or “Why are you talking to her?” 28 The woman left her water jar beside the well and ran back to the village, telling everyone, 29 “Come and see a man who told me everything I ever did! Could he possibly be the Messiah?” 30 So the people came streaming from the village to see him.

31 Meanwhile, the disciples were urging Jesus, “Rabbi, eat something.”

32 But Jesus replied, “I have a kind of food you know nothing about.”

33 “Did someone bring him food while we were gone?” the disciples asked each other.

34 Then Jesus explained: “My nourishment comes from doing the will of God, who sent me, and from finishing his work. 35 You know the saying, ‘Four months between planting and harvest.’ But I say, wake up and look around. The fields are already ripe[e] for harvest. 36 The harvesters are paid good wages, and the fruit they harvest is people brought to eternal life. What joy awaits both the planter and the harvester alike! 37 You know the saying, ‘One plants and another harvests.’ And it’s true. 38 I sent you to harvest where you didn’t plant; others had already done the work, and now you will get to gather the harvest.”

Many Samaritans Believe

39 Many Samaritans from the village believed in Jesus because the woman had said, “He told me everything I ever did!” 40 When they came out to see him, they begged him to stay in their village. So he stayed for two days, 41 long enough for many more to hear his message and believe. 42 Then they said to the woman, “Now we believe, not just because of what you told us, but because we have heard him ourselves. Now we know that he is indeed the Savior of the world.”

 

 

 

Acts 16:12-14

12 From there we reached Philippi, a major city of that district of Macedonia and a Roman colony. And we stayed there several days.

13 On the Sabbath we went a little way outside the city to a riverbank, where we thought people would be meeting for prayer, and we sat down to speak with some women who had gathered there. 14 One of them was Lydia from Thyatira, a merchant of expensive purple cloth, who worshiped God. As she listened to us, the Lord opened her heart, and she accepted what Paul was saying.

 

 

Psalm 40

I waited patiently for the Lord to help me,
and he turned to me and heard my cry.
He lifted me out of the pit of despair,
out of the mud and the mire.
He set my feet on solid ground
and steadied me as I walked along.
He has given me a new song to sing,
a hymn of praise to our God.
Many will see what he has done and be amazed.
They will put their trust in the Lord.

Oh, the joys of those who trust the Lord,
who have no confidence in the proud
or in those who worship idols.
O Lord my God, you have performed many wonders for us.
Your plans for us are too numerous to list.
You have no equal.
If I tried to recite all your wonderful deeds,
I would never come to the end of them.

You take no delight in sacrifices or offerings.
Now that you have made me listen, I finally understand[a]
you don’t require burnt offerings or sin offerings.
Then I said, “Look, I have come.
As is written about me in the Scriptures:
I take joy in doing your will, my God,
for your instructions are written on my heart.”

I have told all your people about your justice.
I have not been afraid to speak out,
as you, O Lord, well know.
10 I have not kept the good news of your justice hidden in my heart;
I have talked about your faithfulness and saving power.
I have told everyone in the great assembly
of your unfailing love and faithfulness.

 

Leave a Reply

