Emotional acceptance of yourself – Talk Notes from Sunday 23rd Oct


RELATING TO GOD – RELATING TO OTHERS

Deep calls to deep (Psalm 42.7)

Presence, Glory & Power is the environment!

Emotional acceptance of yourself  CB 23rd Oct

The recorded version is here on the churches web site 

Readings  – Ps 118 [5-9]    Luke 12 6-7 & 22-32  1 John 4 7-20

 

  • Last week Robert talked about who do we listen to and that leads us into how we accept ourselves.

 

Today  am looking at Emotional Acceptance of Yourself.

I will look at how I came to be more able to accept myself and maybe how you might be able to as well.

 

When I encountered God and His love for me I moved from not believing I was worth much and always trying to prove otherwise, to someone who knew his worth because God loved me.

 

I had Peace and acceptance of self through God

But over the last year or so I have got into a darker place.

Over the last year I have been having Therapy and prayer and while I was at Lee Abbey I found God talking to me in my distress as I cried out to him. He gave me a listening ear and a vision.

 

Ps 118 5 In my constraint I called to the Lord;

the Lord answered and set me free.

6 The Lord is at my side; I will not fear;

what can flesh do to me?

7 With the Lord at my side as my saviour,

I shall see the downfall of my enemies.

8 It is better to take refuge in the Lord

than to put any confidence in flesh.

9 It is better to take refuge in the Lord

than to put any confidence in princes.

 

 

Through it I have come to a better place of how I see myself and my long term illness.

How what I  have been through can be helpful to others

 

  • This is the opposite of how the voices in the world want us to see ourselves

– The amount of bondage that results from self-rejection, self-hatred, unwillingness to forgive oneself and so forth is shocking. Below are just a few of the symptoms:

– Self-rejection; not accepting yourself, always beating up on yourself, not happy with the person that God made you, etc.

– Self-hatred; hating the person who God made in you, considering yourself ugly, dumb, clumsy, etc.

– Unforgiveness or bitterness; when a person continues to hold things against themselves, such as something in their past that was embarrassing, gross, or that they are still ashamed of (even after repentance).

– Being hard on oneself; always beating up on yourself mentally, physically, emotionally, etc. Always seeing yourself as worthless, or pushing to reach irrational goals just to feel good about yourself.

– Low self-esteem; always seeing yourself as a failure, or less than those around you.

– Ashamed of yourself; refusing to forgive yourself from something in your past.

– Feeling ugly or stupid; seeing yourself as ugly, worthless, stupid, no good for nothing, etc.

The list can go on and on!

 

LOTR Frodo had to come to accept himself and his journey despite the toughness, his inability to measure up to the other heroes etc.  Gandalf often told him that he was special and could do this job but he was full of doubts about his worth.

Also Samwise found strength and gifts he did not know he had.

 

Our Journeys in life are not easy but we need to know that God is with us & Loves us.

 

My Therapist said we need to find what brings us happiness and motivates us.

Rom 12 6 In his grace, God has given us different gifts for doing certain things well.

1 Cor 10 31 So whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.

 

  • We need to love ourselves as god loves us and see ourselves how he sees us.

 

When I say that you need to love yourself, I’m not referring to the stuck-up, prideful, worldly type of loving oneself (also known as self-worship); I’m talking about a concept of being thankful, and appreciating the person who God has made in you. The worldly type of loving yourself is where you are stuck up, prideful and arrogant, whereas this type of loving yourself is based upon humility and thankfulness. The two could not be more different!

When we know we are loved for who we are rather than who others want us to be we can be more accepting of our place in the world.

1 John 4 15 All who declare that Jesus is the Son of God have God living in them, and they live in God. 16 We know how much God loves us, and we have put our trust in his love.

 

  • You need to be thankful

Many people today see themselves as dumb, ugly, stupid, clumsy, worthless, etc.

Did you know that you were created in God’s own image, and whenever you consider yourself dumb, ugly, etc., you’re actually considering something that God made as being ugly, dumb, etc.??

Genesis 1:26, “And God said, Let us make man in our image, after our likeness: and let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over the cattle, and over all the earth, and over every creeping thing that creepeth upon the earth.”

 

  • Let me ask you a couple questions…

– Did God create your physical body? If so, would you dare make a statement that God made an ugly body?

– Did God create your mind and intellect? If so, would you dare make a statement that God created a dumb, stupid, or worthless brain?

– If God created you in His image, then are you saying that His image is dumb, stupid, worthless or ugly?

David was a humble man with a heart after God’s own, yet he praised and thanked God for the marvellous work that God had made (referring to his physical body):

Psalms 139:14, “I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well.”

David was not boasting in who he was, but rather being thankful and rejoicing over the beautiful creation that God made in him! How many who consider themselves ugly are looking at things the way David did? Probably not too many!

King David appreciated and thanked God for what God gave him. Instead of saying, “I’m ugly”, David was saying, “Wow! Look at what God gave me! It’s marvellous!!” It’s vital that we develop this same attitude about what God’s given each of us as well.

 

  • You need to forgive yourself!

Much is said on how we are to forgive others, but many of us seem to skip over the concept of forgiving ourselves.

However it’s equally important and vital to be sure we’ve forgiven ourselves, as it is that we’ve forgiven others!

Unforgiveness brings much bondage into our lives, regardless if it’s towards God, others or even ourselves. Bitterness (the fruit of unforgiveness) is a means by which many are defiled:

I think at some level I needed to forgive the loss of my future.

Hebrews 12:15, “Looking diligently lest any man fail of the grace of God; lest any root of bitterness springing up trouble you, and thereby many be defiled.”

Regardless of what we’ve done in our pasts, whether it be an abortion, fornication, or some gross and embarrassing sin, it’s vital that we forgive ourselves from everything in our pasts that we are ashamed of. If God chose to forget our sins for His sake, then I think we ought to do the same:

Isaiah 43:25, “I, even I, am he that blotteth out thy transgressions for mine own sake, and will not remember thy sins.”

God’s Word says that He has actually removed our sins from us! If we continually beat up on ourselves, it’s known as false guilt, and is a tool of the enemy to pull us down. If we still associate ourselves with our sinful past, then we need to change the way we see things… why? Because the way we are thinking does not line up with what God’s Word has to say.

Psalms 103:12, “As far as the east is from the west, so far hath he removed our transgressions from us.”

When we associate ourselves with our past failures, after God’s Word has assured us that they have been removed from us… then do you realize that you aren’t really believing what God’s Word is saying? It’s time that we make that choice to forgive ourselves, and then align our thinking with what God’s Word has to say. If God says it’s removed from us, then we need to take Him for His Word, and believe what it has to say!

 

 

  • Tea Light [from Lee Abbey]

While at Lee abbey Got spoke to me through a tea light about how even in my reduced state [due to my health] I am of value as is what little I do. A tes light is small but has a purpose and even though that is only to give out a small amount of light it does it well. just as He sees what I do as good.

How God showed me how even being small and little still had worth.

Luke 12:6-7, 22-32

6 “What is the price of five sparrows—two copper coins? Yet God does not forget a single one of them. 7 And the very hairs on your head are all numbered. So don’t be afraid; you are more valuable to God than a whole flock of sparrows.

 

24 Look at the ravens. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for God feeds them. And you are far more valuable to him than any birds! 25 Can all your worries add a single moment to your life? 26 And if worry can’t accomplish a little thing like that, what’s the use of worrying over bigger things?

27 “Look at the lilies and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are. 28 And if God cares so wonderfully for flowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you. Why do you have so little faith?

 

31 Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and he will give you everything you need.

32 “So don’t be afraid, little flock. For it gives your Father great happiness to give you the Kingdom.

 

Do what you are gifted to do, this can change over time, do not worry about what others can do and you know longer can.

 

 

  • Support from others and getting help to deal with any issues to enable you to work through things which you struggle to accept about yourself.

However remember that No one else can be you, you are unique rejoice in your difference.

Do not let other voices pull you from what God has made.

Gal 5 1 Christ has set us free to live a free life. So take your stand! Never again let anyone put a harness of slavery on you.  [msg]

 

  • Let us pray

Heb 13 20 Now may the God of peace—
who brought up from the dead our Lord Jesus,
the great Shepherd of the sheep,
and ratified an eternal covenant with his blood—
21 may he equip you with all you need
for doing his will.
May he produce in you,[e]
through the power of Jesus Christ,
every good thing that is pleasing to him.
All glory to him forever and ever! Amen.

 

 

1 John 4:7-20

Loving One Another

7 Dear friends, let us continue to love one another, for love comes from God. Anyone who loves is a child of God and knows God. 8 But anyone who does not love does not know God, for God is love.

9 God showed how much he loved us by sending his one and only Son into the world so that we might have eternal life through him. 10 This is real love—not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as a sacrifice to take away our sins.

11 Dear friends, since God loved us that much, we surely ought to love each other. 12 No one has ever seen God. But if we love each other, God lives in us, and his love is brought to full expression in us.

13 And God has given us his Spirit as proof that we live in him and he in us. 14 Furthermore, we have seen with our own eyes and now testify that the Father sent his Son to be the Saviour of the world. 15 All who declare that Jesus is the Son of God have God living in them, and they live in God. 16 We know how much God loves us, and we have put our trust in his love.

God is love, and all who live in love live in God, and God lives in them. 17 And as we live in God, our love grows more perfect. So we will not be afraid on the day of judgment, but we can face him with confidence because we live like Jesus here in this world.

18 Such love has no fear, because perfect love expels all fear. If we are afraid, it is for fear of punishment, and this shows that we have not fully experienced his perfect love. 19 We love each other because he loved us first.

20 If someone says, “I love God,” but hates a fellow believer, that person is a liar; for if we don’t love people we can see, how can we love God, whom we cannot see?

This is the word of the Lord.

All Thanks be to God

 

 

Psalm 118:1-14

O give thanks to the Lord, for he is good;

his mercy endures for ever.

1 O give thanks to the Lord, for he is good;

his mercy endures for ever.

2 Let Israel now proclaim,

‘His mercy endures for ever.’

3 Let the house of Aaron now proclaim,

‘His mercy endures for ever.’

4 Let those who fear the Lord proclaim,

‘His mercy endures for ever.’ R

5 In my constraint I called to the Lord;

the Lord answered and set me free.

6 The Lord is at my side; I will not fear;

what can flesh do to me?

7 With the Lord at my side as my saviour,

I shall see the downfall of my enemies.

8 It is better to take refuge in the Lord

than to put any confidence in flesh.

9 It is better to take refuge in the Lord

than to put any confidence in princes. R

10 All the nations encompassed me,

but by the name of the Lord I drove them back.

11 They hemmed me in, they hemmed me in on every side,

but by the name of the Lord I drove them back.

12 They swarmed about me like bees;

they blazed like fire among thorns,

but by the name of the Lord I drove them back.

13 Surely, I was thrust to the brink,

but the Lord came to my help.

14 The Lord is my strength and my song,

and he has become my salvation. R

 

Luke 12:6-7, 22-32

6 “What is the price of five sparrows—two copper coins? Yet God does not forget a single one of them. 7 And the very hairs on your head are all numbered. So don’t be afraid; you are more valuable to God than a whole flock of sparrows.

22 Then, turning to his disciples, Jesus said, “That is why I tell you not to worry about everyday life—whether you have enough food to eat or enough clothes to wear. 23 For life is more than food, and your body more than clothing. 24 Look at the ravens. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for God feeds them. And you are far more valuable to him than any birds! 25 Can all your worries add a single moment to your life? 26 And if worry can’t accomplish a little thing like that, what’s the use of worrying over bigger things?

27 “Look at the lilies and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are. 28 And if God cares so wonderfully for flowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you. Why do you have so little faith?

29 “And don’t be concerned about what to eat and what to drink. Don’t worry about such things. 30 These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers all over the world, but your Father already knows your needs. 31 Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and he will give you everything you need.

32 “So don’t be afraid, little flock. For it gives your Father great happiness to give you the Kingdom.

This is the word of the Lord.

All Thanks be to God

 

Leave a Reply

