When I survey the wondrous cross – thoughts on Good Friday


Today I joined the Walk of Witness after a 30 minute service. During that service we looked at all the stuff we carry around with us every day. Anger, Envy, Hatred, Illness, Despair, Failure and on and on.  Each year our pack gets heavier with out worries and fears. But we can put all this down by giving it to the Cross of Jesus.

We then had the walk, well I only did part of it. We walked to the memorial garden where a church used to be until it was destroyed in war. Then we walked down the main street, where people where shopping or just catching up with others in the cafes. I have done this many times but I am still amassed at how they respond to us walking down the road singing with a cross. Some take photos and so miss the point. Most take no notice just as at the time of Christs death on the cross. To many there were more important things going on like when will the Romans leave, or what is my neighbor doing, or how will I pay this bill. Unfortunately they all miss the point of the Cross.

In the afternoon we had a service at my church  ‘a Hour at the Cross’. ‘The Seven Words of Jesus from the Cross’

I Thirst – John 19 28-29

This made me think of those things I thirst for or have thirsted for over the years. many of which hurt others, Jesus was just thirsting because of the pain he was in, he had been flogged and beaten and nailed to a cross I would be thirsty as well.

Father Forgive them they do not know what they are doing – Luke 23 32-34

From thirst he then asks his father to forgive them for all they have done to him. Could I? could you?

I promise you, today you will be with me in paradise – Luke 23 39-43

What a wonderful thing to say to a criminal. It shows it is never to late nor are you to lost not to be saved by the grace of God.

Mother behold your son; Son, behold your mother – John 19 25-27

Jesus in all his pain and agony did not forget his mother, he knew what she was going through. Just as he knows what you are suffering and wants to take care of you. I was sat by my mother and thought about how God had given us to each other.

My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me? – Matthew 27 45-46

Sometimes we just feel lost and totally separated from God. Its not that he has gone its that what we have been doing has put a barrier between us and him. In Jesus case it was our stuff which put the barrier up as he carried it for us.

Father into thy hands I commend my Spirit – Luke 23 44-46

Sometimes all you can do is give it to God. But in fact that is what he wants all the time, us to give our all to him.

It is finished – John 19 29-30

But it wasn’t, it was just starting because after Friday there would be a Sunday.

https://blogs.thegospelcoalition.org/justintaylor/2014/04/18/its-fridaybut-sundays-comin/

We finished with this song

  1. When I survey the wondrous cross
    On which the Prince of glory died,
    My richest gain I count but loss,
    And pour contempt on all my pride.
  2. Forbid it, Lord, that I should boast,
    Save in the death of Christ my God!
    All the vain things that charm me most,
    I sacrifice them to His blood.
  3. See from His head, His hands, His feet,
    Sorrow and love flow mingled down!
    Did e’er such love and sorrow meet,
    Or thorns compose so rich a crown?
  4. Were the whole realm of nature mine,
    That were a present far too small;
    Love so amazing, so divine,
    Demands my soul, my life, my all.

The last verse says it all.

Lord I thank you for Friday but also for the Sunday which follows.

Leave a Reply

