The need for others when we are unwell


9th August 2015  Jesus heals a Paralyzed Man

 Talk Notes

I have heard many talks on this reading of the paralyzed man as I am sure you have to.

So I asked God for a different view of it.

 

 The need for others when we are unwell.

 

Our readings today show the need for the help and support of others when we are suffering.

 

It is important to have others to support us when in need.

 

They can support us in many ways.

 

1 – How others helped me when I was ill and in hospital

When I was ill recently, I was blessed by family & friends some of whom sat with me while I was waiting for help from medics.

Then they took me to the hospital twice and stayed until I had seen medical help and the second time been admitted.

Then I had others pray over me as I struggled, bringing peace if not healing.

Another sang over me in later on in hospital.

 

Each was doing what this story shows us.

helping someone who can’t help themselves.

 

” No one said a word to Job, for they saw that his suffering was too great for words.” Job 2 13

Often we do not know what to do for those who are suffering.

Jobs friends came and sat with him crying and suffering with him, even if they could not help him.

Until they got fed up and felt they needed to sort the problem out.

 

In Mark we have 4 friends who have come to their friend, carrying him to where he could get help.

We wonder how long they had supported him or sat with him.

Often a sick or distressed person can not help themselves.

They need others.

 

2- They can bring us into Gods presence.

It is often very hard to put ourselves in the Father’s presence when things are going wrong for us

Others! Our friends or sometimes stranger’s, the good Samaritan, need to help us into Gods presence

 

Some friends will just sit with us with no idea what they can do to help but be there.

Like Job’s friends, they tried to give advice but little practical help.

I am sure you have all experienced that.

 

In Mark we hear of the friends who have gone further and taken their friend to where he can get help.

They brought him to Christ, having heard of his healings.

 

If we bring those we love before Christ, He will respond.

 

3 – Why do some find God healing people so hard to understand?

Why did the religious leaders then question a healing?

DO we?

 

Why do they find reasons to disbelieve it?

Do we?

 

Often we think that God couldn’t do that, or why would God heal me or them.

They do not believe so why should God listen?

 

Why do so many believers find it hard to be prayed for when they are in trouble?

Maybe they need some help to be able to do that.

Could you take them to where their is prayer ministry, or maybe you could bring the ministry to them?

 

 

4 – Is physical healing and spiritual healing linked?

Jesus often linked the two, but also sometimes didn’t.

He also said that it was not the parents sins that made a child ill.

 

Is this any different from the well known fact that psychological problems can cause physical illness.

So why can we not except that Spiritual and physical problems are linked?

 

 

5 – Love & Faith

Micah 6 6-8

6 What can we bring to the Lord?                      Should we bring him burnt offerings?
Should we bow before God Most High               with offerings of yearling calves?
7 Should we offer him thousands of rams            and ten thousand rivers of olive oil?
Should we sacrifice our firstborn children           to pay for our sins?

8 No, O people, the Lord has told you what is good,             and this is what he requires of you:
to do what is right, to love mercy,                       and to walk humbly with your God.

 

We show our faith in God by how we treat others, not by spending time sacrificing things to Him.

He wants us to look after each other and to show mercy, as the Good Samaritan did.  [Luke 7 30 -37]

In contrast to the religious people who walked past.

 

As these 4 friends did.

 

Jesus said 21 “Not everyone who calls out to me, ‘Lord! Lord!’ will enter the Kingdom of Heaven. Only those who actually do the will of my Father in heaven will enter. Mathew 7 21

 

What is the will of God?

Math 22

37 Jesus replied, “‘You must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your mind.’[e] 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 A second is equally important: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’[f] 40 The entire law and all the demands of the prophets are based on these two commandments.”

 

It is the faith of those who brought the paralyzed man to Jesus  that counted.

Their love and care showed God their faith.

Jesus often remarked on the faith of those who wanted healing or those who asked for them.

 

Do you have faith in Gods love and healing power for yourself or others?

Let us pray
Mark 2.1-12

When Jesus returned to Capernaum several days later, the news spread quickly that he was back home. 2 Soon the house where he was staying was so packed with visitors that there was no more room, even outside the door. While he was preaching God’s word to them, 3 four men arrived carrying a paralyzed man on a mat. 4 They couldn’t bring him to Jesus because of the crowd, so they dug a hole through the roof above his head. Then they lowered the man on his mat, right down in front of Jesus. 5 Seeing their faith, Jesus said to the paralyzed man, “My child, your sins are forgiven.”

6 But some of the teachers of religious law who were sitting there thought to themselves, 7 “What is he saying? This is blasphemy! Only God can forgive sins!”

8 Jesus knew immediately what they were thinking, so he asked them, “Why do you question this in your hearts? 9 Is it easier to say to the paralyzed man ‘Your sins are forgiven,’ or ‘Stand up, pick up your mat, and walk’? 10 So I will prove to you that the Son of Man[a] has the authority on earth to forgive sins.” Then Jesus turned to the paralyzed man and said, 11 “Stand up, pick up your mat, and go home!”

12 And the man jumped up, grabbed his mat, and walked out through the stunned onlookers. They were all amazed and praised God, exclaiming, “We’ve never seen anything like this before!”

 

Micah 6 6-8

6 What can we bring to the Lord?
Should we bring him burnt offerings?
Should we bow before God Most High
with offerings of yearling calves?
7 Should we offer him thousands of rams
and ten thousand rivers of olive oil?
Should we sacrifice our firstborn children
to pay for our sins?

8 No, O people, the Lord has told you what is good,
and this is what he requires of you:
to do what is right, to love mercy,
and to walk humbly with your God.

 

Job 2  11-13

11 When three of Job’s friends heard of the tragedy he had suffered, they got together and traveled from their homes to comfort and console him. Their names were Eliphaz the Temanite, Bildad the Shuhite, and Zophar the Naamathite. 12 When they saw Job from a distance, they scarcely recognized him. Wailing loudly, they tore their robes and threw dust into the air over their heads to show their grief. 13 Then they sat on the ground with him for seven days and nights. No one said a word to Job, for they saw that his suffering was too great for words.

 

Psalm 139

1 O Lord, you have examined my heart
    and know everything about me.
2 You know when I sit down or stand up.
You know my thoughts even when I’m far away.
3 You see me when I travel
and when I rest at home.
You know everything I do.
4 You know what I am going to say
even before I say it, Lord.
5 You go before me and follow me.
You place your hand of blessing on my head.
6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
too great for me to understand!   R

 

7 I can never escape from your Spirit!
I can never get away from your presence!
8 If I go up to heaven, you are there;
if I go down to the grave,[a] you are there.
9 If I ride the wings of the morning,
if I dwell by the farthest oceans,
10 even there your hand will guide me,
and your strength will support me.
11 I could ask the darkness to hide me
and the light around me to become night-
12     but even in darkness I cannot hide from you.
To you the night shines as bright as day.
Darkness and light are the same to you. R

 

13 You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body
and knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex!
Your workmanship is marvelous-how well I know it.
15 You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion,
as I was woven together in the dark of the womb.
16 You saw me before I was born.
Every day of my life was recorded in your book.
Every moment was laid out
before a single day had passed.  R

 

17 How precious are your thoughts about me,[b] O God.
They cannot be numbered!
18 I can’t even count them;
they outnumber the grains of sand!
And when I wake up,
you are still with me!

23 Search me, O God, and know my heart;
test me and know my anxious thoughts.
24 Point out anything in me that offends you,
and lead me along the path of everlasting life. R

 

 

Leave a Reply

