Instruction and Learning Church Talk


Notes for the talk on Sunday 26th Oct

Not given due to ill health but thought I would share it anyway

 

Talk on Instruction and Learning

Proverbs 1.2-9                        John 7:14-18               Psalm 119.129-144

 

For the past weeks we have been looking at wisdom in various ways.

The wisdom of Jesus

The wisdom of Peacemaking

The wisdom around harvest and care of the world

 

So today its the wisdom gained by instruction and learning

This is a big subject so I will try not to go to long…..

 

  • What is the point of Instruction and Learning?

 

Some FB answers from my friends.

To pass skills, knowledge and wisdom on to others and maybe enjoying it for its own sake.

 To help other people to do better in there life. Give ,more chances to do better.

 I understand the purpose of learning to be to equip and enable those being taught to acquire skills, knowledge and understanding; often to enable them to take some action or fulfil a specific role; &/or to grow as a person (their character/personal development); possibly to change an attitude or behaviour.

 

 

The word “education” is derived from the Latin ēducātiō (“A breeding, a bringing up, a rearing”) from ēdūcō (“I educate, I train”) which is related to the homonym ēdūcō (“I lead forth, I take out; I raise up, I erect”) from ē- (“from, out of”) and dūcō (“I lead, I conduct”).

 learning

  1. knowledgegained by study; instruction or scholarship
  2. theact of gaining knowledge
  3. (Psychology)psychol any relatively permanent change in behaviour that occurs as a direct result of experience

 

So the point is about change and maturity  in our behaviour and the way we live, which is brought about by being instructed, gaining new knowledge, being conducted to a new understanding which causes us to question the way we are.

 

We need to learn so we can grow and become the person we can be.

 

How many of you have not learnt anything in the past week?

 

 

  

  • What is the reason for Learning?

Because its good for us

Because it helps us cope with life

Because it opens new ideas to us

We learn so that we can have Wisdom to manage life and find answers to life’s problems

Because God told us to

 

We are Instructed to learn from the bible and proverbs especially.

 

Proverbs 1

3 Their purpose is to teach people to live disciplined and successful lives, to help them do what is right, just, and fair. 4 These proverbs will give insight to the simple, knowledge and discernment to the young.

5 Let the wise listen to these proverbs and become even wiser. Let those with understanding receive guidance

 

Only the wise learn because they know how little they know.

Are you wise, do you know you need to know more or understand better?

 

 

Colossians 1

For this reason we also, from the day we heard about you, have not ceased praying for you and asking God to fill you with the knowledge of his will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding10 so that you may live worthily of the Lord and please him in all respects—bearing fruit in every good deed, growing in the knowledge of God, 11 being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might for the display of all patience and steadfastness,

 

28 We proclaim him by instructing and teaching all people with all wisdom so that we may present every person mature in Christ. 29 Toward this goal I also labor, struggling according to his power that powerfully works in me.

 

Paul here is praying that  God would fill His people with the knowledge they need so they can have wisdom and understanding. With it they will grow to be better people living in Gods way. 

Learning Gods wisdom helps us to live the life Christ wants for us.  Gaining that knowledge also helps us to guide others into this life as well. Making for a better world.

 

 

Proverbs 9

8…. But correct the wise, and they will love you. 9 Instruct the wise, and they will be even wiser. Teach the righteous, and they will learn even more

 

As followers of God we should want to learn more about Him and how to live as He wants us to. A wise person wants to learn more, as they know how little they really know.

 

The more I learn, and I like learning, particularly history, the more I come to realise how little I do know.

I come across people who have more depth to there knowledge and I can learn from them, as they learn from me.

  

  • So How do we learn?

Different people have different learning styles (theorists, activists, pragmatists and reflectors). We can learn by seeing, hearing, conceptualising, doing, experimenting.

 

We all learnt differently because we are all different.

Some need to reflect on what they read, see or hear.

Others need to do something, trying different ideas out.

Some need to see new ideas while others need to hear them.

Some can learn on there own others in groups.

 

We are all different and learn differently.

But we all need to have our views challenged, to learn.

 

That is how I came to faith, I did a Alpha course and as I questioned I had my views challenged and so they changed as I reflected on the sessions.

 

That is why God uses many ways to instruct us.

Instruction comes from God to us, via his word read or spoken, or in other ways as directed by the Spirit.

 

We can hear from God from His word, from film, radio, talking to others, listening to others, observing others.

 

 

Jesus used scripture to teach others, led by the Spirit of God.

John 7:14-18

14 Then, midway through the festival, Jesus went up to the Temple and began to teach. 15 The people were surprised when they heard him. “How does he know so much when he hasn’t been trained?” they asked.

16 So Jesus told them, “My message is not my own; it comes from God who sent me. 17 Anyone who wants to do the will of God will know whether my teaching is from God or is merely my own.

 

 

Learning requires questioning

We should always question what we read and what is told us, we need to know where the message comes from.

Acts 17

When they arrived, they [Paul and Silas] went to the Jewish synagogue. 11 These Jews were more open-minded than those in Thessalonica, for they eagerly received the message, examining the scriptures carefully every day to see if these things were so12 Therefore many of them believed, along with quite a few prominent Greek women and men.

 

 

Isaiah 30

Now go, write it down on a tablet in their presence,
inscribe it on a scroll,
so that it might be preserved for a future time
as an enduring witness.
For these are rebellious people—
they are lying children,
children unwilling to obey the Lord’s law.
10 They say to the visionaries, “See no more visions!”
and to the seers, “Don’t relate messages to us about what is right!
Tell us nice things,
relate deceptive messages.

 

Often learning  might mean us hearing we would rather not.

Often this means that we will ignore what we hear.

Wisdom is not always well received, it needs to be framed properly and we need to accept that a truthful message of wisdom may not be what anyone wants to hear.

None of us like the truth being presented to us, at least I don’t.

 

But wisdom requires that we accept that the truth is important to our learning and growing.

 

 

 

  • How do we get Wisdom?

Learning, does not give wisdom on its own, knowing lots about lots of things does not make us wise but cleaver.

There are many cleaver people in the world, but not all have wisdom, as can be seen by the decisions  they make.

 

So how do we get Wisdom rather than just knowledge?

 

John 7  16  “My message is not my own; it comes from God who sent me.

Jesus gained His wisdom and knowledge from listening to His Father.

How do you gain yours?

 

The bible shows us that Wisdom comes from God.

It is through His Spirit that knowledge can be used wisely.

 

It by spending time in His presence, socking up His Spirit that we attain Wisdom.

Solomon asked for it above all else.

The wise know they need help in understanding things properly.

SO they seek Gods Wisdom

 

So can we

 

 

 

 

  • Conclusion

 

In all things we learn by spending time doing so, by absorbing knowledge.

 

Would you say you understood the history of WW1 after reading one small book?

Could you say you were an expert on Dr Who after watching one episode?

 

No you need to spend a lot of time learning more about both subjects to even get close to knowing even a small amount.

 

We learn most about those things we like.

 

What is it that you enjoy learning about?

 

WE need to grow as Christians, to become closer to God, to change and become the person God made us to be. So we need to enjoy learning about God and His relationship with us.

 

Its a ongoing journey, of searching and learning, of questioning and listening.

 

Just as we can understand a person better by listening to there personal stories so we can learn more about God by understanding the story of His people Him.

 

 

 John 15  [the message]

5-8 “I am the Vine, you are the branches. When you’re joined with me and I with you, the relation intimate and organic, the harvest is sure to be abundant. Separated, you can’t produce a thing. Anyone who separates from me is deadwood, gathered up and thrown on the bonfire. But if you make yourselves at home with me and my words are at home in you, you can be sure that whatever you ask will be listened to and acted upon. This is how my Father shows who he is—when you produce grapes, when you mature as my disciples.

 

Only by feeding on the vine can the branch grow and give forth fruit.

The purpose of continued learning is to grow and produce fruit.

Otherwise there is no point to the branch.

 

Jeremiah 1  [the message]

But I said, “Hold it, Master God! Look at me.
I don’t know anything. I’m only a boy!”

7-8 God told me, “Don’t say, ‘I’m only a boy.’
I’ll tell you where to go and you’ll go there.
I’ll tell you what to say and you’ll say it.
Don’t be afraid of a soul.
I’ll be right there, looking after you.”
God’s Decree.

9-10 God reached out, touched my mouth, and said,
“Look! I’ve just put my words in your mouth—hand-delivered!
See what I’ve done? I’ve given you a job to do

 

 

So the answer to what is the point of instruction and learning is?

To be joined with Christ, having a intimate and organic relationship, to be fed from the vine.

When that is happening God promises that He will be with us, putting His words His wisdom into us, so we can live the right way and share that way with others.

 

So if you want to have that relationship with God and remind in the vine then you need to be prepared to learn.

That learning comes from spending time with other followers discussing Gods word, the things of the world, our own problems.

Being part of a Cell group is one really good way of doing this,  hearing from God as a group, questioning and exploring.

 

“It’s what we do, learn from each other.”  Quote from cell group member.

 

“The back-and forth with the Bible, and with God, is where deeper faith is found.”

This back and forth tossing around of ideas is what happens in a cell group.

 

Acts 17

11 for they eagerly received the message, examining the scriptures carefully every day to see if these things were so

 

Lets Pray

 

 

 

 

Proverbs 1.2-9

The Purpose of Proverbs

2 The purpose or proverbs is to teach people wisdom and discipline, to help them understand the insights of the wise. 3 Their purpose is to teach people to live disciplined and successful lives, to help them do what is right, just, and fair. 4 These proverbs will give insight to the simple, knowledge and discernment to the young.

5 Let the wise listen to these proverbs and become even wiser. Let those with understanding receive guidance 6 by exploring the meaning in these proverbs and parables, the words of the wise and their riddles.

7 Fear of the Lord is the foundation of true knowledge, but fools despise wisdom and discipline.

8 My child, listen when your father corrects you. Don’t neglect your mother’s instruction. 9 What you learn from them will crown you with grace and be a chain of honour around your neck.

Proverbs 9.7-10

Anyone who rebukes a mocker will get an insult in return. Anyone who corrects the wicked will get hurt. 8 So don’t bother correcting mockers; they will only hate you. But correct the wise, and they will love you. 9 Instruct the wise, and they will be even wiser. Teach the righteous, and they will learn even more.

10 Fear of the Lord is the foundation of wisdom. Knowledge of the Holy One results in good judgment.

This is the word of the Lord.

All Thanks be to God.

 

Psalm 119.129-144

129 Your testimonies are wonderful;

therefore my soul keeps them.

130 The opening of your word gives light;

it gives understanding to the simple.

131 I open my mouth and draw in my breath,

as I long for your commandments.

132 Turn to me and be gracious to me,

as is your way with those who love your name.

133 Order my steps by your word,

and let no wickedness have dominion over me.

134 Redeem me from earthly oppressors

so that I may keep your commandments

135 Show the light of your countenance upon your servant

and teach me your statutes.

136 My eyes run down with streams of water,

because the wicked do not keep your law.

137 Righteous are you, O Lord,

and true are your judgements.

138 You have ordered your decrees in righteousness

and in great faithfulness.

139 My indignation destroys me,

because my adversaries forget your word.

140 Your word has been tried to the uttermost

and so your servant loves it.

141 I am small and of no reputation,

yet do I not forget your commandments.

142 Your righteousness is an everlasting righteousness

and your law is the truth.

143 Trouble and heaviness have taken hold upon me,

yet my delight is in your commandments.

144 The righteousness of your testimonies is everlasting;

O grant me understanding and I shall live.

John 7:14-18

14 Then, midway through the festival, Jesus went up to the Temple and began to teach. 15 The people were surprised when they heard him. “How does he know so much when he hasn’t been trained?” they asked.

16 So Jesus told them, “My message is not my own; it comes from God who sent me. 17 Anyone who wants to do the will of God will know whether my teaching is from God or is merely my own. 18 Those who speak for themselves want glory only for themselves, but a person who seeks to honour the one who sent him speaks truth, not lies.

This is the word of the Lord.

All Thanks be to God.

Leave a Reply

