An Open Letter To Those Who Doubt or Deny God


For those who are not sure there is a God or are quite sure they is not one.
I believe I pray that this may help you do as well.
With thanks for Two Rivers

THE RIVER WALK

To those who have been faithfully reading my blog thank you very much. Take a day off, this one isn’t for you. Today I am writing to the doubting Christian, the agnostic, and the militant atheist. Today, this one is for you.

Read:
The Doubting Christian – If you would be a real seeker after truth, it is necessary that at least once in your life you doubt, as far as possible, all things. – Rene’ Descartes
Doubt isn’t the opposite of faith, it is an element of faith. – Paul Tillich

The Agnostic – Question with boldness even the existence of God; because, if there be one, He must more approve of the homage of reason, than that of blind-folded fear. – Thomas Jefferson

The Militant Atheist – Man is manifestly not the measure of all things. This universe is shot through with mystery. The very fact of its…

View original post 869 more words

3 responses to “An Open Letter To Those Who Doubt or Deny God

  1. It’s sooo tedious to see a negative term applied to atheists and atheism right off the bat without any recognition whatsoever that if the definition is to be applied to atheists and atheism, then it is factorially applicable to those who claim allegiance (and identity) to an organized religion. But… Lo and Behold!… it never is.

    Not once have I ever come across someone on the Intertubes who assigns the term ‘militant’ to the typical religionist.

    Not once have I ever encountered someone at my door to spread atheism.

    Not once have I ever encountered someone on the street selling atheism by pamphlet.

    Not once have I ever received atheist junk mail.

    Not once have I ever had traffic stopped so an atheist ceremony can be facilitated.

    Not once have I heard bells rung out hourly to advertise the local atheist tax exempt community hall.

    Not once have I been asked to show respect for an atheist perspective on ethics and morals to be spoken before an unrelated event.

    Not once have I been forced to wait for an event so that atheism can be given public recognition.

    And the list of typical insertions into my life by the colossal arrogance of religionists selling their theological wares and imposing them whenever and wherever they can on me without my consent is labelled as ‘militant’.

    Good grief.

    No, we need to assign that pejorative term to those who dare to tell these supportive religionists to just stop doing all this imposing because of these reasons and those reasons. THAT is called ‘militant’ in religio-speak: a gross distortion and misrepresentation to serve one and only one purpose… to smear the character of people who dare to reject belief in Oogity Boogityand have the courage to enunciate why.

    So when I come across another faitheist post telling me to give more consideration to the ‘proper’ role of doubt, but insulting me right off the bat, it raises my dander because I expect that I’m going to be reading predigested and regurgitated religio-pap and spiritual pablum. This article lived up fully to this expectation.

    Like

    • Thank you tildeb, I agree that the use of militant is not helpful, and does not apply to most people in any way. However there are some very forceful people who want to deny me and others the right to speak about what we believe. I have no problem with people who want to tell me why they do not believe, I also have no problem with others telling me about their faith. I do have a problem with those who wish to shut all others up. I am not saying you are but there are some of faith and no faith who just want no argument or discussion or even a open mind, they just want others to accept and live their way, with no disagreement allowed..
      I do not believe that is Christian, which I believe encourages questions and doubt.
      I think we all need to question and doubt things we are told to believe, I did, I was not always a Christian. I went along to a Alpha course to show them how wrong they were, God showed me otherwise.

      I hope that you are blessed in your journey through life and find the answers you need.

      Like

      • Chris, I think you’ll find that New Atheists in particular will be the first to stand with anyone whose equality rights are being denied. No New Atheist will deny you the right to speak about what you believe but many will argue that you shouldn’t impose what you speak about on others (not that you advocate any such thing, but many religionists do in the form of supporting legal discrimination on theistic grounds). The difference is very important to appreciate. New Atheists who speak about legal discrimination on the justification that it is religious and therefore right and proper to withhold legal equality are commonly referred to as ‘militant’ and it is this trope if find so tedious to be reissued time and again, whereas the people who support legal discrimination on theistic grounds ironically find legal protection to do so based on legal equality rights in the form of ‘free’ speech and ‘freedom’ of religion… as if such freedoms are deserved on the one hand in order to be used to deny them to some on the other! It is this imposition where consent is neither wanted nor sought that raises the ire of New Atheists, who are then vilified by such terms to such a degree that their use is now common and widely accepted. I cannot tell you the number of times I’ve been told to shut up – not just by religionists but by all manner of accommodationists theistic and atheistic.

        Sure, many religious folk have doubts and, sure, many are allowed to express them in their religious communities. But this doubt is expected to be transitory, temporary, a stage one goes through, a time in need of further teaching, and so on. Uncertainty because of doubts, because of skepticism, about the truth value of a religion’s central tenets is not a virtue in religious communities but a vice – a crisis of faith – that is tolerated only so far as it is temporary. To maintain skepticism is an admission of failure regarding the quality of one’s faith and we hear this expressed by these ‘failures’ all the time.

        In contrast, atheism welcomes skepticism, embraces critical thinking, expects questioning, and finds among its ranks all manner of people whose sole uniting feature is a recognition that lack of certainty about stuff we can know nothing about.is intellectually honest and liberating. That’s why most atheists are really good people who understand their personal responsibilities to themselves and others and who also will be the first to admit agnosticism about many theistic knowledge claims… but atheist in matter of belief about gods or a god. And that’s not militancy, stridency, or anger in action; it’s a bunch of people who are simply being honest and open about it. The payment for this is usually in the form of suspicion, vilification, and character assassination by people of faith.

        Like

Leave a Reply

