Perverting the Good News – How do you live your life?


Galatians 1

New International Version (NIV)

6 I am astonished that you are so quickly deserting the one who called you to live in the grace of Christ and are turning to a different gospel— 7 which is really no gospel at all. Evidently some people are throwing you into confusion and are trying to pervert the gospel of Christ. 8 But even if we or an angel from heaven should preach a gospel other than the one we preached to you, let them be under God’s curse! 9 As we have already said, so now I say again: If anybody is preaching to you a gospel other than what you accepted, let them be under God’s curse!

10 Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.

Reading this today made me wonder about what perverts the Good News today?

Is it churches and ministers trying to please people so that they will become members?

Is it groups who want the message to be more acceptable for them and so they change it and modify it?

Is it Christians, like me, who want to be more in line with the wider community and so drop the more challenging parts?

 

I am not sure I expect that its all of them, its particularly difficult for the Church of England as non Christians think they have a right to tell us what the church should believe because its there church even if they have never set foot in a service, other then the odd wedding etc.

Here I am with Paul, “If anybody is preaching to you a gospel other than what you accepted, let them be under God’s curse!” I for one want to follow Gods plan for me and the world, yes it means that often we are out of step with the rest of society, but who do we want to please man or God?

An example, today I had to go and find out about repairs to my car. The garage told me how much it would cost but also how much it would cost if I wanted to just patch it up rather than a full repair  and pocket the difference. The man seems quite sure that I should want to do it this way and make £300. He did not seem convinced that I would not want to do that because its not the way I live.

The insurance company seemed to want me to claim for personal injuries, which I did not suffer, as well as inconvenience.  It did make me wonder about the cost of insurance.

I aim to live the way God wants me to, treating others as I would want to be treated.

How do you live your life?

what code do you follow?

Leave a Reply

