Trident replacement!


SO we will replace Trident with a like for like. We can not afford aircraft for the carriers we are building or to keep the ones we had, or the maritime surveillance  aircraft and scrapped them even as they were being built, but can afford billions for new nuclear weapons.
How many times have we needed nuclear weapons?
How many times have we needed normal military systems?
Which is most likely to be needed?

As a Christian I can see no reason ever to use a weapon which will destroy millions, I can see that protecting our citizens and other peoples from being bullied or attacked is valid though and we can not do that with nuclear weapons.

I would rather that if we have billions of spare money that we used it for helping the poorest in the world and in our own country.

Matthew 25:43-45

New Living Translation (NLT)

43 I was a stranger, and you didn’t invite me into your home. I was naked, and you didn’t give me clothing. I was sick and in prison, and you didn’t visit me.’

44 “Then they will reply, ‘Lord, when did we ever see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or naked or sick or in prison, and not help you?’

45 “And he will answer, ‘I tell you the truth, when you refused to help the least of these my brothers and sisters, you were refusing to help me.’

 

Added – to see my thoughts on war read War & Peace Golbal 16 04 1998 I did in 1998, in fact it was my first talk to a group as a Christian having only just become one.

3 responses to “Trident replacement!

  1. Chris Gaynor

    You say as a Christian you can see no reason ever to use a weapon that will destroy millions. I totally agree with you. I wonder if you can tell me what kinds of weapons have killed the most people? If strangers are to be welcomed, then this is all strangers. Using any weapon against another human being, even if we wrap it up with the use of the words ‘protect others’ surely goes against what Jesus set out to do?

    Like

    • I would say bullets from guns Chris have killed the most, the totals from WWI & WWII dwarf all previous centuries.
      I also agree that the use of all weapons is wrong but I can see the Christian idea of just war is valid if its to defend the weak and vulnerable from attack themselves. Although I would say that it should only come after all other means of dealing with the situation have been used. Jesus did tell soldiers to do there job fairly.

      Like

    • See added link to talk I did on War & Peace

      Like

Leave a Reply

