Review of ‘The Spartan Army’ by J F Lazenby


‘The Spartan Army’ by J F Lazenby

I have enjoyed reading this book, I knew a little about the Spartans from other books and TV. This book goes deep into how the army was organized and looks at some of the debates over that.

After a good hard look at the origins it goes on tho look at a few of the battles the Spartans were involved in. This opened up new things to me about hoplite  warfare and I have rethought how I will use my Theban Hoplite army.

A good book well worth a read if you are into classical Greek history.

The only trouble is I would now like a Spartan army to compliment my Theban one.

 

Leave a Reply

