Chaplain's blog

Last Saturday I went with my wife to see Judd Apatow’s film This is 40. Not really my type of film, I found it difficult to sympathise with two beautiful and, despite their protestations, successful people agonising over reaching the age of forty. I admit, maybe that’s because the landmark has already receded into my distant past. That said, there were some funny moments and, just beneath the surface, a real sense of how the years creep up on us. In one particular scene, an elderly woman talks about her own memory of being forty and adds ‘blink and you’re 90’.

As a young boy I never understood my parent’s wisdom that time seems to go faster the older you get – though I do now! In the days of our youth we cannot imagine being 40, let alone 90. As the decades slip by our limited lifespan comes more sharply…

View original post 72 more words

Leave a Reply

