angchronicles

Twenty years ago, I found Jesus and my life changed. And years later, I continued to believe I found Jesus, until the pastor said at Tuesday Night Bible Study, “We don’t find Jesus, Jesus finds us. He’s not lost.”

I winced at those words. I heard the message, yet did not comprehend; still stuck in the notion that I had found Jesus. The days that followed, I read the gospels Mark and John debunking my belief.

First, Jesus chooses his disciples. Jesus walks beside the Sea of Galilee, spots “Simon and Andrew casting a net into the lake,” and then James and John preparing their nets.  When he says, “Come, follow me,” they immediately stop and follow (Mark 1: 16-18). They are in a place of obedience and trust.

By the lake, Jesus selects Levi, a tax collector (Mark 2:18). Levi, otherwise known as Matthew, leaves his place of business…

View original post 338 more words

Leave a Reply

