come, follow me


A certain ruler asked [Jesus], ‘Good teacher, what must I do to inherit eternal life?’ ‘Why do you call me good?’ Jesus answered. ‘No one is good – except God alone. You know the commandments: “Do not commit adultery, do not murder, do not steal, do not give false testimony, honour your father and mother.”‘ ‘All these I have kept since I was a boy,’ he said. When Jesus heard this, he said to him, ‘You still lack one thing. Sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.’ When he heard this, he became very sad, because he was very wealthy. (Luke 18: 18-23)

Jesus makes clear here that is not good works, being good or even knowing the bible which is important. It is being able to give up all that you hold dear and follow Him.

What do you hold most dear?

Can you give it all up to follow Jesus?

Now its not that good works, being good or knowing your bible is wrong there not, but its not enough its putting Jesus first and doing these things for Him not yourself.

So do you do good works so others think you are nice?

Are you good because it allows you to get on in life?

Do you study your bible because it makes you look good?

Have you put Jesus first in your life? or do you find it to hard?

One response to “come, follow me

  1. A mountain of questions to think about. I tell you I thought I always put God first until my life became Job-like, then I knew without a shadow of a doubt that I was nothing without Christ and with Him I had everything beyond material possession. Today when I look back, I realize I have to love my children despite their decision to live with their father; I realized I have to pray for my ex-husband even if he decided to end a 21-year-old marriage. All this forgiveness, letting go anger and bitterness only by God’s grace and study God’s Word for answers not to look good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

