Talk on ‘Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled’


Talk

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness,
for they will be filled

Genesis 15.1-9

Romans 3.21-31

Psalm 32

Matthew 5.1-2, 6 & 20

 

What do you think Righteous means?

 

 

The right action and justice which characterises God and which God requires of his people.

The Meanings of “Righteous”  –  By Wayne Jackson

The Greek adjective dikaios, usually rendered “righteous” or “just,” occurs about eighty times in the New Testament. It is not easy to assign it a solitary meaning, because the term is used in a variety of ways, depending upon the context.

(1) The term is used in an absolute sense. For example, in the sermon that cost him his life, Stephen declared that the Jews had persecuted and killed their ancient prophets, who “showed before the coming of the Righteous One…” (Acts 7:52; cf. 22:14; 1 Pet. 3:18;1 Jn. 2:1). Jesus was “righteous in every respect. He always did the will of God (Jn. 8:29), never sinning, not even once (1 Pet. 2:22). When Paul described the whole human race by saying: “There is none righteous, no, not one” (Rom. 3:10), he similarly used the definitive in an absolute way.

Aside from Jesus, there is no responsible human being who has been wholly perfect. And so, underscore “righteous” in Acts 7:52, Romans 3:10, etc., and marginally note: Absolutely righteous

(2) “Righteous” may be used in a relative sense. Cornelius is called a “righteous” man (Acts 10:22). He was righteous compared to most Gentiles of that day, but he was not sinless because he was lost, hence, needed to be saved (11:14). Lot was a righteous man in contrast to the citizens of Sodom and Gomorrah (see 2 Pet. 2:8), but he was far from perfect.

And so, underline “righteous” in Acts 10:22, etc., and in your margin write: Relatively righteous.

(3) Finally, there is that which may be designated as a self-perceived sense of righteous character. Jesus said that he did not come to “call the righteous but sinners to repentance” (Lk. 5:32). The Lord was not suggesting that some are so righteous they do not need his message. Rather, he was saying: There are those who perceive themselves as righteous (e.g., the Pharisees – vss. 29-30). I can hardly do them any good so long as they entertain that view. I can only help those who acknowledge they are “sick,” hence need a physician (31).

 

So what Does Jesus mean when he Says – 6 Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness,
for they will be filled.

 

  • I believe he wants us to be faithful in all we do.

Meaning of faithful – 1.  strict or thorough in the performance of duty: a faithful worker.

2.  true to one’s word, promises, vows, etc.

3.  steady in allegiance or affection; loyal; constant: faithful friends.

4.  reliable, trusted, or believed.

 

And Abram believed the Lord, and the Lord counted him as righteous because of his faith.

 

Romans 3 – 27 Can we boast, then, that we have done anything to be accepted by God? No, because our acquittal is not based on obeying the law. It is based on faith. 28 So we are made right with God through faith and not by obeying the law.

 

Trust in God and all he says, even when it seems impossible, that is what God wants.

Some time later, the Lord spoke to Abram in a vision and said to him, “Do not be afraid, Abram, for I will protect you, and your reward will be great.”

 

Abram believed and was seen as righteous.

 

  • Always putting God first, in everything. The disciples dropped all they were doing with their lives to follow Jesus.  Would you – DO you?

 

He wants people who will always do the will of God and not their own or others.

 

Whose will do you follow?

 

 

 

  • He wants people who aren’t just paying lip service to God but who hunger and thirst for Him. People who will do anything to be in His presence.

 

The ‘Righteous’ Pharisees were good on rules, synagogue each week, being seen to pray and praise God, but their hearts were not with God as they were thinking of their own needs, wants and position.

 

Mathew  20 But I warn you—unless your righteousness is better than the righteousness of the teachers of religious law and the Pharisees, you will never enter the Kingdom of Heaven!

 

What is hungering?

 

What is thirsting?

 

[it is longing- needing something desperately for your ability to live]

 

What do you hunger and thirst for?

 

Is it God or something else?

 

 

 

  • He wants people who know that they are not good and want to be changed so that they can be in Gods presence.

 

Psalm 32 – 5 Then I acknowledged my sin to you and my iniquity I did not hide.

6 I said, ‘I will confess my transgressions to the Lord,’ and you forgave the guilt of my sin.

 

 

 

  • He wants people who seek His great plan out, who look to find Jesus and ask for help.

Romans 3 – 21 But now God has shown us a way to be made right with him without keeping the requirements of the law, as was promised in the writings of Moses and the prophets long ago. 22 We are made right with God by placing our faith in Jesus Christ. And this is true for everyone who believes, no matter who we are.

 

Psalm 32

1 Happy the one whose transgression is forgiven, and whose sin is covered.

2 Happy the one to whom the Lord imputes no guilt, and in whose spirit there is no guile.

12 Be glad, you righteous, and rejoice in the Lord;    shout for joy, all who are true of heart.

 

 

 

  • All in all what it comes down to is a correct relationship with God doing things, taking actions which conforms to what He wants in your life and in this world.

 

I will leave you with this thought – DO YOU HAVE A REALATIONSHIP WITH GOD THROUGH JESUS WHICH PUTS HIS THOUGHTS BEFORE ALL OTHERS? Or are you like the Pharisees just paying lip service one day a week.

 

Let us pray.

Lord, as you are Saviour

Be my Lord as you are my Saviour,

Be my ‘Kyrios’ as you are my ‘Christos’.

You are my Saviour, wholly, completely.

In just the same way, be Lord of every part of me.

I need you to save me

From sin and from shame

But, more than that, I want to be yours,

Your possession, your reward

As you are my Saviour, be my Lord.

As Saviour, you served me,

As Lord, I serve you.

My Saviour, you laid down your life for me.

My Lord, I lay down my life for you.

Be my Lord as you are my Saviour.

All of me needs saving

From the inside out and back again.

So, in all of me, be enthroned as Lord:

Heart, soul, mind and strength.

All of me you’ll save completely

And lead me into glory.

So, in all of me, be crowned completely,

Lord and King of me.

Be my Lord as you are my Saviour.

Be my Lord as you are my Saviour.

Richard England for WordLive http://www.wordlive.org.uk © Scripture Union 2012

Leave a Reply

