Job and My encounter With God 4


 

God Answers.

Job lived a good live in his own eyes and those of others, but when everything went wrong he struggled to understand why. Some of his friends said it was because he sinned, he claimed he was sinless and it must be God. They mused on why the good suffer and the bad don’t. Questions many people still have.

Now God answers Job. ‘Why do you confuse the issue?’ says God. he accuses Job of not knowing what he is talking about, that he is asking the wrong questions. So God puts some questions to Job, where were you when I created the earth?, who decided all its dimensions and shape? Who filled it with life? Do you even know all about the world you live on? Who do you think set up the ecosystem and weather systems?  ‘Now what do you have to say for yourself?’ said God.

Job answered ‘I’m ready to shut up and listen.’

So God continues, are you trying to make yourself look good by making me look bad?  can you change the way things are? Are you big enough to take on this job Job? Can you even see the big picture? See what is and what has been and what is to come?

Job replies, Ch 42 1-6 Job answered God: “I’m convinced: You can do anything and everything.
Nothing and no one can upset your plans.
You asked, ‘Who is this muddying the water,
ignorantly confusing the issue, second-guessing my purposes?’
I admit it. I was the one. I babbled on about things far beyond me,
made small talk about wonders way over my head.
You told me, ‘Listen, and let me do the talking.
Let me ask the questions. You give the answers.’
I admit I once lived by rumors of you;
now I have it all firsthand—from my own eyes and ears!
I’m sorry—forgive me. I’ll never do that again, I promise!
I’ll never again live on crusts of hearsay, crumbs of rumor.”

 

So we come to the end of Job’s journey, he like so many of us realises that he has only known God by rumour and common knowledge, rather than  fact. He at last see’s that he can not always know why things happen they just do. The universe is a complex thing with many things happening. Many of those have been corrupted  by man thinking he knows best and not listening to God’s word. The world has been set to run in a particular way but we keep ignoring the handbook we have been given.

God wants each of us to have a real relationship with Him, to know him better than wee know our best friends, then and only then will we ever have any inkling of what is going on. Many people like Job and his friends think they know and understand God, but they don’t. All they know is what they have picked up from others who do not know anything either. Its like pretending that you know the Queen just from the press releases.  You don’t know the queen you just know what others are saying about her. For many people there knowledge of God and what he has done is distorted by the bad and inaccurate press God gets.

If you want to Know God and understand a little then as Job you need to get personal and talk and listen, with more listening than talking as well. We only learn when we listen to the answers to our questions, instead of making them up ourselves.

 

I do not pretend that I understand it all, but the way I see things changed once I challenged God and then Listened.

If you want to understand do the same as me and many others.

Leave a Reply

